Energy & power/ Station-level analysis/ PGCB daily reports, 2020–2026/ Published

The Idle Third of the Grid & the burn nobody talks about

Every daily report the Power Grid Company published over seven years, read station by station — what the idle plant was billed at, and what the state’s own ledger says about price, fuel and the neighbours.

Bangladesh added 43% more generating capacity between 2020 and 2026. It did not add proportionally more electricity.

Part 01

What the reports show

The grid company prints a sheet every day naming every station, its available capacity, what it generated, and why it did not. Seven years of those sheets, rebuilt and name-matched.

P2 sheet daily capacity and energy

01

Capacity outgrew output

The fleet’s present capacity — what PGCB itself declares available on the day, after derating and outages — rose from to . Generation rose too, but more slowly, so the share of available plant that produces nothing on an average day fell to a low of in 2022 and has climbed back to .

Present capacity each month, split by whether it generated

Capacity that generated Capacity present and idle
Monthly means of the daily figures. A station counts as idle on a day when it is listed on the P2 sheet with capacity present and reports no energy. Imports over the Bheramara HVDC link and from Tripura are excluded throughout. The series ends at August 2026, the last complete month in the archive; September is left off rather than plotted as a five-day mean beside full ones.

Capacity factor against idle share

Capacity factor Share of present capacity idle
Capacity factor is the month’s energy over its present capacity run flat out. The two lines are mirror images by construction, but not exactly: a plant can run at part load all day without ever being idle, which pulls the capacity factor down while the idle share holds still.

P2 sheet by PGCB area

02

What each region carries, and what it leaves standing

Every station sits under one of nine PGCB areas, restated on every report. Two questions answer most of what a region is for: how much of the country’s electricity does it generate, and how much of the plant it holds is doing nothing while it does so.

They come apart badly. Barisal produces more than an eighth of national output from the least idle fleet in the country outside Mymensingh. Dhaka produces the most in absolute terms and idles more than a third of everything it holds. Khulna is the extreme: of its listed stations sit out an average day, and it turns the capacity it does have into less electricity than any other area.

The nine areas over the whole window

Bars are scaled within their own column.

Share of national energy and idle capacity share, 2020-01-01 to 2026-09-05. Capacity factor is the area’s total energy over its mean present capacity run flat out for the window. Stations counts every station the area listed at least once over the seven years; listed per day is the mean number appearing on any single day’s sheet, which is lower because plants join, leave and drop off the sheet.

Seven years, region by region

Share of national energy Share of present capacity idle
Each tile runs 2020 to 2026 on a common 0–55% scale. 2026 covers January to 5 September.

Generation log hourly, 520,776 area-hours

03

The shape of an average day

The hourly log gives each region’s contribution hour by hour. Pooled over seven years the national curve troughs at and peaks at — the familiar evening peak, driven by lighting and cooling load rather than industry.

The regions do not share one shape. Every area but one peaks between 20:00 and 21:00; Rangpur alone peaks at midday, on a fleet small enough that one plant’s schedule sets the curve.

Mean generation by hour of day, 2020–2026

Each tile is scaled to its own maximum, printed at the top right. Hours are hour-ending.

Averaged over every day with an hourly log. Reports before 2024-12-31 label the hour by its end (01:00–24:00) and later ones by its start (00:00–23:00); the later convention is shifted forward one hour here so the two eras describe the same hour.

P2 remarks and Forecast idle-day reasons

04

Why the plant stands still

Each idle station-day carries PGCB’s own remark, folded into a family. Weighted by the capacity sitting idle, one cause leads every year of the window.

Idle capacity by stated reason, whole window

Gigawatt-days: capacity present but not generating, summed over every idle station-day.

Where P2’s remark is blank, the previous day’s Forecast remark for the same station is used; where both are blank the day falls into “Not stated”.

Each area’s idle capacity, by reason

Row percentages: share of that area’s total idle capacity-days.

Read across a row, not down a column. Sylhet’s idleness is almost entirely maintenance; Rajshahi’s is fuel; Rangpur’s is maintenance on a small fleet.
Part 02

The peak hour

One moment each day decides how the fleet is judged: the hour of maximum demand. It is also the measure the consumer association’s brief leads on, so it can be checked directly.

Peak hour the measure the policy brief uses

05

“Half the machines, the whole bill”

Installed capacity at the peak hour, by fiscal year

Generating at the peak hour Installed but not delivering Of which: plants at a standstill
Fiscal years run July to June, so FY26 is 2025-07-01 to 2026-06-30. FY19 and FY20 are omitted: the ERP archive begins 2019-10-28, so neither year is complete. Installed capacity is the P2 sheet’s own figure summed over listed stations, which runs about 4% below the brief’s 28,034 MW — the brief uses the official installed total, which includes plant the grid’s daily sheet does not list.

The reason changed, not the amount

The brief’s sharpest observation is not that capacity sits idle but that the stated reason has moved. Plant held back because nobody wanted the electricity has almost vanished; plant held back for no recorded reason has taken its place. The reports bear this out.

Share of peak-hour idle capacity, by stated reason

Each line is that reason’s share of all capacity standing still at the peak hour that year.

“No demand” falls from of idle capacity in FY21 to in FY26, while “not stated” rises from to . Capacity is no longer standing still because the country has enough electricity; it is standing still for reasons PGCB does not write down.

The brief’s specific claims, against the reports

Five of the brief’s factual claims can be checked directly against the daily reports. Four hold. One does not.

Checked over FY26 (2025-07-01 onward) unless the claim names its own window.

station_master 203 stations

06

The stations that never ran

Idleness at the fleet level is a handful of large plants held out for years at a time, not a general slackness.

Plants of 100 MW or more, ranked by share of listed days idle

The longest unbroken idle runs

Consecutive calendar days listed on P2 with capacity present and no energy.

The cluster ending 2025-12-11 is a set of plants held out together from 2024-11-18 — a coordinated stand-down, not eleven coincidences.

And the ones that carry the country

100 MW and up, listed at least two years, ranked by capacity factor.

Part 03

The burn nobody talks about

Idle plant is not merely unproductive. Under a two-part contract it is billed at the full fixed price for standing still, and the daily sheets say which idle days were billed and which were not.

Capacity charges what availability costs when nothing is dispatched

07

What the standing still costs

A two-part power purchase agreement pays a plant twice: an energy charge for each unit delivered, and a capacity charge for being available — owed in full on a day the plant sends out nothing. Idle capacity is therefore not merely wasted. It is the one state that costs the full fixed price and returns nothing at all.

Whether the charge is actually owed depends on availability, not on dispatch, and that distinction does the work here. A plant that stood ready while BPDB failed to deliver its gas was available, and is paid. A plant broken down was not available, and its sponsor forfeits the payment. PGCB’s own remark against each idle day decides which case it is.

Idle capacity-days, and whether the capacity charge still fell due

Charge-bearing owners only — BPDB’s own plants are excluded, since it does not pay itself.

“Paid” is the headline: available, unused, and billed. “Allowance” is maintenance and testing, normally inside the contractual outage allowance and so also paid, but legitimately — a plant must be maintained. “Forfeit” is breakdown, where the sponsor loses the payment rather than BPDB.

Why it stood still, and what that cost

Fuel shortage is not only the largest cause of idleness, it is the most expensive one: capacity contracted, built, and paid for, then left without gas to burn.

The paid-and-unused bill, by the reason PGCB gave

And by area

Dhaka carries the largest bill in absolute taka, as it carries the largest fleet.

The twenty plants with the largest paid-and-unused bill

Confidence is the rate’s provenance, not the MW-days, which are measured throughout.

Method 15 plants, 14 of them payment records

08

Where the rate comes from, and what it cannot tell you

Every figure above is capacity-days — measured directly from the daily reports — multiplied by a taka rate per MW-day. The MW-days are solid. The rate is the weak link, and it is worth being exact about how weak.

Fifteen plant pages on energytransitionbd.org state a capacity charge precisely enough to convert. Fourteen of them state what BPDB actually paid over a known window — not an estimate — which is the strongest evidence available. Those rates cluster tightly, and Anwara 300 MW, the one plant whose page states a forward annual charge, lands inside the cluster derived entirely from the others’ payment histories. Two independent readings agreeing is the reason to trust the middle of this range at all.

What it cannot do is speak for the plants it does not cover. The evidence is entirely small oil- and gas-fired plants that reached commercial operation between 2008 and 2012. Nothing here is evidence about a modern coal unit, an LNG combined cycle, or a solar farm, whose capacity charges differ in both level and structure. Rates for those are the fleet median wearing a disguise, which is why the table below reports what rests on real evidence and what does not.

The fifteen plants that state a charge

Normalised to taka per MW per day. Dollar figures are revalued at Tk 122 — capacity charges are dollar-indexed, so the taka owed for one idle MW rose with the depreciation.

Rejected along the way: figures that move with the plant load factor (a charge that varies with output is an energy payment, whatever the page calls it), sums covering several plants at once, exchange-rate notes, and one page’s “crore … as a daily capacity charge”, where the unit disproves the period.

How much of the headline rests on evidence

Read this before quoting the total.
Part 04

The national ledger

The station sheets answer where the idle plant sits. The same daily reports, read as a national account, answer what the electricity cost, what it was burned from, and how little of it was renewable.

BPDB daily reports fuel mix, cost and load-shedding

09

What the state’s own daily ledger says

The sections above showed that half the fleet stands still at the peak hour. The question now widens: what does the state write down about price, fuel mix, load-shedding and renewables? The PGCB and BPDB daily generation reports record three things against every station, every day — how much capacity it has, what it delivered at the peak hour, and why it delivered nothing. Every figure in this section comes from there, and from nowhere else.

Data energy.datahubbd.org — PGCB/BPDB daily reports, 11 January 2018 to 16 August 2026. 28,841 fuel-wise daily generation and fuel-cost rows, 646,670 station-day rows, 685 stations. The totals reconcile to BPDB’s own daily figures within 99.8–100% in every fiscal year. Fiscal years run July to June; FY26 means July 2025 to 13 March 2026, and is therefore incomplete. Peak-hour load-shedding is recorded on a separate table, 1 January 2025 to 16 August 2026.
Fuel cost
৳6.06per unit, FY26 — it was ৳2.48 in FY20
Gas share
41%it was 68% in FY19
Imports
16.7%of grid electricity — was 9.3%
Solar + wind
1.36%up from 0.06% in eight years
Idle at peak
14,501MW, out of 28,034
Load shedding
3,312MW at the day peak, 9 August 2026
0 25 50 Gas 68% → 41% 41% 19 22 26 Coal 2% → 32% 31.5% 19 22 26 Imports 9% → 17% 16.6% 19 22 26 0 25 50 Liquid fuel 29% → 8% 8.3% 19 22 26 Renewables 1.1% → 2.5% 2.5% 19 22 26 0 2 4 6 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 Fuel cost per unit ৳2.48 → ৳6.06 · own scale ৳6.06 % · SHARE OF GRID ELECTRICITY FY19–26 · FY26 = JUL 25–MAR 26
Eight fiscal years of the grid’s fuel mix. Five panels share one scale (0–70%); the sixth has its own. Gas is falling, coal and imports are rising, liquid fuel is falling, renewables are effectively flat — and beside them the fuel cost per unit has multiplied 2.4 times in six years. The last panel counts the price of fuel only, not capacity charges or capital cost. Source: BPDB daily reports.

How much of ৳26 is fuel, and how much is not

The brief carries a calculation for FY2023-24: 12% of all electricity came from liquid fuel — 11.80 billion units, at ৳307.88 billion, an average cost of ৳26 a unit. The BPDB daily reports give their own independent figures for the same year:

FuelUpper bar: share of units · lower bar: share of fuel costFY2026
Liquid fuel 8.3% 24.7% One unit at the price of three — ৳17.99/unit
Coal 31.5% 32.3% Almost exactly proportional — ৳6.21/unit
Gas 41.0% 23.9% The cheapest thermal power — ৳3.53/unit
Imports 16.7% 15.6% ৳5.66/unit, settled in dollars
Solar + wind + hydro 2.5% 3.6% Too small to move the average either way

In FY2023-24 liquid fuel delivered 11.72 billion units — almost exactly the brief’s 11.80. But the fuel for those units cost ৳177.6 billion, or ৳15.16 a unit. The gap against the brief’s ৳307.88 billion is ৳130.3 billion — meaning that of the ৳26, ৳15.16 is fuel and the remaining ৳11.11 is not. What the brief calls capacity charges and rent-seeking sits in that second part. The daily reports do not name it, but they size it: 42% of the price of liquid-fuel electricity.

Load-shedding came back, and came back bigger

Peak-hour load-shedding was first recorded separately in the daily reports on 1 January 2025. The twenty months since look like this — occasional through 2025, then near-daily through the summer of 2026, and larger than in any earlier month.

Jan25MarMayJul SepNovJan26Mar MayJulAug26

Each column is that month’s maximum load-shedding, in megawatts. In June 2026 there was peak-hour load-shedding on 29 of 30 days, and on 28 days in July. The largest single day was 9 August 2026 — 3,312 MW at the day peak and 2,722 MW at the evening peak. The highest figure in all of 2025 was 1,491 MW, on 26 April: more than double in a year.

The renewable figure, set beside the neighbours

The brief carries a table for 2023-25 of how many billion units each country gets from renewables a year. Against Bangladesh it says “negligible”. BPDB’s own daily reports give the number: in FY2024-25, solar, wind and hydro together produced 2.31 billion units, or 2.27% of all grid electricity. Counting solar and wind alone, 1.35 billion.

Countrybn unitsRenewable electricity generatedShare× BangladeshSource
China4,00038–40%1,732×Brief, 2023–25 period
India35622–25%154×Brief, 2023–25 period
Germany25759%111×Brief, 2023–25 period
Vietnam13345–50%58×Brief, 2023–25 period
Pakistan4230–35%18×Brief, 2023–25 period
Bangladesh2.312.27%—BPDB daily reports, FY2024-25

The bars share one scale, which is why Bangladesh’s is barely visible — that is the point. The Renewable Energy Policy of 2008 set a target of 10% by 2021. What the daily reports recorded in that fiscal year: 0.18% from solar and wind, 0.99% including hydro. The brief says “in practice it never reached even 1 percent”. The reports agree.

Part 05

Why it happened

Same fifteen years, same imported panels, same regional constraints — and six countries that ended up in very different places. The difference is not effort. It is what the state agreed to pay for.

Comparative context outside the PGCB reports

10

Same starting point, different endings

Everything up to here has been an internal account: the state’s own paper on the state’s own fleet. But a number only means something with a comparison beside it. What did countries like ours do over the same fifteen years? The comparison below is of six: Vietnam, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, the Philippines and Bangladesh. All import-dependent, all under subsidy pressure, all with a loss-making state utility. One thing should be settled at the outset — it is not that Bangladesh did not try. In 2001, 35% of the country had electricity; by 2022, 99.4%, the steepest climb on this list. In solar home systems Bangladesh built the largest off-grid programme in the world: 6,037,642 units by December 2022, 263.5 MWp. The difference is not effort but method — which procurement instrument the state chose for buying electricity.

That distinction is what connects this section to the measurements above. Under a capacity payment an idle plant still earns, and there is no revenue mechanism a solar developer can enter, because there is no fuel pass-through to monetise and the payment does not follow output. Under an output payment an idle plant earns nothing and cheap generation wins on merit. The idle-capacity numbers in sections 01 to 06 are what the first arrangement predicts.

Solar · 2018
0.24Bangladesh, GW — Vietnam was at 0.10
Solar · 2024
0.85Bangladesh — Vietnam 18.67
Wind · 2024
0.06GW, with 710 km of coastline
Solar + wind
1.5%of electricity, 2025 — neighbours 12–22%
Reserve margin
66.1%December 2024 — India 26%, Vietnam 28%
Per capita
586kWh, 2024 — the lowest on this list
0–20 GW Full scale 0 5 10 15 20 2010 2013 2016 2019 2022 2024 0–4 GW Bangladesh’s own scale 0 1 2 3 4 2010 2013 2016 2019 2022 2024 this band enlarged → Until 2018 Bangladesh was ahead of Vietnam Vietnam 16.7 0.1 → 16.7 in 24 months Vietnam 18.67 GW far above this scale 2015: 0.20 Pakistan 3.72 Philippines 2.97 Sri Lanka 1.45 Bangladesh 0.85 Bangladesh Vietnam Pakistan Philippines Sri Lanka
Installed solar capacity, 2010–2024. Full scale on the left, the 0–4 GW band on the right. There is one thing to notice — until 2018 Bangladesh had more installed solar than Vietnam (0.24 against 0.10 GW). Vietnam then reached 16.7 GW in twenty-four months; Bangladesh reached 0.85 in fourteen years. India does not fit on this scale: 97.6 GW in 2024. Source: Our World in Data / IRENA.

In 2015 these six countries were in effectively the same place — not one of them had reached a gigawatt of solar. Ten years on, this is where the solar and wind share of electricity stands, and the instrument each country used to get there:

CountrySolar+windShare of electricity, 2025Solar GWPer capitaHow they got there
Sri Lanka21.9%1.45739Rooftop solar and auctions after the 2022 collapse
Pakistan21.7%3.72696Net metering — consumers, not the state
India14.4%97.581,404Reverse auctions, with SECI as single creditworthy buyer
Vietnam12.0%18.673,006Feed-in tariff with a hard deadline
Philippines3.6%2.971,072FiT quota exhausted, six years stalled, auctions from 2022
Bangladesh1.5%0.85586Targets announced, no instrument settled

The last column is the real column. Everyone else started an instrument — a published price, an auction, net metering, a deadline. Bangladesh has been announcing targets since 2008. A target does not instruct anyone to build a power station.

Year by year: who decided what, and when

Bangladesh on the left, the rest of the region on the right. The five years set in bold are the ones that turned.

BangladeshYearElsewhere
Renewable Energy Policy 2008 — a 10% target for 2020. A target, but no price and no deadline.
2008
Philippines: the Renewable Energy Act creates the legal basis for a feed-in tariff.
Special Provisions Act 2010 — power plants approved without tender, and section 9 closes the courts to any challenge.
2010
India: the National Solar Mission runs its first auction, opening at ₹10.95/kWh.
Solar home systems peak — 816,000 units sold in one year. 16% of the rural population is drawing power from them; the largest off-grid programme in the world.
2013
—
The grid reaches the villages and the SHS market begins to break up. What could have become an industry stays a programme.
2015
India: the target is raised to 175 GW of renewables by 2022.
—
2017
Vietnam: Decision 11 — a solar price fixed at 9.35 US cents/kWh, with a deadline of 30 June 2019. India: auction prices fall to ₹2.44.
The first LNG FSRU comes online — the start of import dependence. A net-metering guideline is issued and goes largely unused. Solar 0.24 GW.
2018
Vietnam’s solar stands at 0.10 GW — up to this year, Bangladesh is ahead.
Solar 0.28 GW. Forty megawatts added in the year.
2019
Vietnam 4.99 GW — fiftyfold in twelve months, as the rush beats the deadline.
Ten coal projects cancelled — the right decision, but no method was settled for putting renewables in the space. Solar 0.34 GW.
2020
Vietnam 16.66 GW, of which 9.3 is rooftop across more than a hundred thousand installations. India: prices reach ₹1.99.
The Special Provisions Act is extended again.
2021
Vietnam: the wind FiT deadline — 0.52 to 4.12 GW of wind in one year.
Spot LNG purchasing halted for seven months; 113 days of load-shedding; a national blackout of nearly seven hours on 4 October.
2022
Sri Lanka: the dollars run out — 13-hour blackouts, and the government falls. Vietnam: a $15.5 bn JETP package.
IEPMP approved — the JICA-backed master plan puts renewables at 13% of the mix by 2050 and rests the rest on LNG, ammonia and CCS.
2023
Vietnam PDP8: 73 GW of solar and 50 GW of wind by 2030, with a coal phase-down schedule.
Capacity charges pass ৳32,000 crore in a single year — about 81% of the power sector’s subsidy. Reserve margin 66.1%. 28 November — the 2010 Act is repealed. The contracts written under it stand.
2024
Pakistan: 16.4 GW of solar panels imported in one year — not through a state programme, but by consumers leaving the grid.
Renewable Energy Policy 2025 — a new policy after seventeen years, targeting 20% by 2030 and 30% by 2040.
2025
Solar’s share of electricity — Pakistan 18.8%, Sri Lanka 16.5%, India 9.4%, Vietnam 7.4%. Bangladesh 1.5%.

Procurement design the mechanism behind the gap

11

The difference is not effort, it is the instrument

In 2018 Bangladesh and Vietnam had effectively the same installed solar capacity. Two years later the gap was forty-nine times. A gap that large, that fast, is not explained by technology — both countries were buying the same Chinese panels at the same price. Nor by sunlight: Bangladesh receives 4–5 kWh/m²/day, more than northern Vietnam. The explanation sits in one place — the instrument the state chose for buying electricity, and which technologies that instrument lets in.

Same input: demand for electricity both countries started from the same place THE INSTRUMENT Bangladesh’s instrument Special Provisions Act 2010 — repealed 2024 STEP 1 Unsolicited proposal No tender and no competition — the government selects directly STEP 2 Section 9 — immunity Decisions taken under this Act cannot be challenged in court THE PAYMENT RULE Paid against installed capacity A capacity charge, in dollars — whether the plant runs or not, it has to be paid OUTPUT Fossil-fuel power stations Reserve margin 61.3% in 2024 Solar 0.85 GW · wind 0.06 GW FEEDBACK The plant stands idle and is paid anyway — cost per unit rises, subsidy rises, and the case for building more is made THE INSTRUMENT Vietnam’s and India’s Feed-in tariff / reverse auction STEP 1 Published price or auction The price is announced first — anyone may come and build STEP 2 A hard deadline Past the date the price is gone — in Vietnam, 30 June 2019 THE PAYMENT RULE Paid against electricity delivered Per kilowatt-hour — deliver nothing and you are paid nothing OUTPUT Solar and wind Vietnam: 16.7 GW of solar in 24 months India: ₹10.95 → ₹1.99 per kWh FEEDBACK Competition drives the price down — more electricity for the same money, so the next round can be called lower still Renewables could never enter the left-hand instrument Bangladesh’s instrument Solar and wind No imported fuel → no fuel pass-through → nothing for a capacity charge to carry. The instrument settles in advance which technology gets built. One difference decided the whole outcome — what the money is paid against: a megawatt installed, or a kilowatt-hour delivered.
Two procurement instruments from the same starting input. The steps differ, but only one step decides the outcome — what the money is paid against. Under Bangladesh’s instrument it goes against the megawatt installed, so it is owed whether or not the plant runs; under Vietnam’s and India’s it goes against the kilowatt-hour delivered. That is why renewables could never enter the first: solar and wind burn no imported fuel, so there is no fuel cost to pass through to the consumer. This is not a limit of the technology. It is the design of the instrument.

What each country actually did — and where it tripped

None of them is a model to copy wholesale. Each instrument arrived with a trap attached, and the traps are the most useful part for Bangladesh.

VietnamFiT + deadline
Instrument
A published fixed price (9.35 US cents/kWh, 2017) and with it a hard date — after 30 June 2019 that price was gone. A second round in 2020 offered 8.38 cents for rooftop.
Result
0.10 GW in 2018 to 16.66 GW in 2020. Of that, 9.3 GW was rooftop, across more than a hundred thousand installations. Wind followed the same way: 4 GW in 2021.
Where it tripped
The grid did not grow with it. From 2021 there was large-scale curtailment — power built and unusable, but still owed the price. Later attempts to walk the tariff back produced disputes.
Lesson
It was the deadline that did the work, not the generosity of the price. But unless transmission is built to the same schedule, the money is wasted.
IndiaReverse auction
Instrument
The government did not set the price — it discovered it. The lowest bid wins. Alongside that, SECI was made a single creditworthy buyer and inter-state transmission charges were waived.
Result
₹10.95/kWh in 2010, ₹2.44 in 2017, ₹1.99 in 2020. Solar capacity went from 5.7 GW in 2015 to 97.6 GW in 2024.
Where it tripped
State distribution companies ran up arrears, so projects stalled even at low prices. Some winning bidders walked away from contracts after bidding too low.
Lesson
An auction only lowers prices when nobody doubts the buyer can pay. Against a weak buyer, auction prices rise rather than fall.
PakistanConsumers left instead
Same disease
An exact match for Bangladesh — IPP contracts, capacity payments (Rs 2.1 trillion in 2024), circular debt, and repeated tariff increases.
What happened
The state ran no programme. Only net metering was open. Consumers themselves imported 16.4 GW of panels in one year and put them on their roofs; by 2025 solar was 18.8% of electricity.
What the state did
Under IMF conditions in 2024–25 it reopened the IPP contracts — five PPAs cancelled and eighteen more proposed for a move off capacity charges onto “take-and-pay” (paid for what the grid actually takes). Eight bagasse plants had their tariffs unpegged from the dollar.
Where it tripped
Those able to leave were the well-off. With fewer customers left to share the grid’s fixed costs, the unit price rises for everyone remaining — the tariff death spiral.
Lesson
If the state does not settle an instrument, rooftop solar arrives anyway — but disorderly, and with the burden left on poorer consumers. This is the brief’s most direct warning.
Sri LankaWhat could happen
What happened
More than 60% of electricity came from imported coal and oil. In 2022 the dollars ran out — fuel could not be bought, blackouts ran up to 13 hours a day, surgery stopped in hospitals, and the government fell.
Afterwards
Leaning on rooftop solar and auctions, solar and wind reached 21.9% by 2025 — the highest on this list.
Lesson
Import dependence is not only an economic risk but a political one. Bangladesh stood at the head of exactly this road in 2022 — seven months without spot LNG, 113 days of load-shedding.
PhilippinesThe nearest trap
Instrument
The RE Act of 2008, then a feed-in tariff in 2012 — but only up to a fixed quota.
Result
A jump from 0.18 to 0.80 GW by 2016. Once the quota was used up, nothing more was built — six years of near-standstill, 0.80 GW in 2016 to 1.67 in 2022. A green auction in 2022 restarted it: 2.97 GW by 2024.
Lesson
An instrument left without a successor produces one burst and then a long stall. For the 2025 policy, this is the closest danger.

The three objections that always come up

All three are reasonable, and all three are partly true. Which part is worth separating out.

“Bangladesh has no land — solar parks like Rajasthan’s are impossible here.”

True, but half true. Population density is about 1,150 per square kilometre, nearly four times Vietnam’s 300. On large field-scale solar parks Bangladesh really is bound to lag. But 9.3 GW of Vietnam’s 16.7 was on rooftops, and Pakistan’s 4.9 GW of net-metered solar is rooftop too. Rooftops need no new land. The land argument explains the shortfall in large projects; it does not explain the shortfall on roofs — the net-metering guideline has existed since 2018.

“We are a poor country — cheap electricity first, the environment later.”

It did not come out cheap, and that is the problem. Between FY2010-11 and FY2023-24, capacity charges and rentals paid to the private sector came to roughly ৳1.15 lakh crore; in FY2023-24 alone, more than ৳32,000 crore, about 81% of that year’s power subsidy. Over the five years from FY2019-20 to FY2023-24, subsidy paid to BPDB was ৳1,26,700 crore ($10.6 bn). Much of it went to plants that are standing still. India’s auction price of ₹1.99/kWh is below Bangladesh’s current average cost of generation. The question is not cheap versus green — it is cheap versus rent.

“Our demand is low anyway, so what would we do with all that renewable capacity?”

Demand is not low, it is suppressed. Per capita electricity is 586 kWh — the lowest of these six countries, a fifth of Vietnam’s. And yet the reserve margin is 66%. For both to be true at once means only one thing: the problem is not generating capacity but delivery and affordability. Lower the price and the demand appears. This is not an argument against renewables; it is an argument for cheap electricity.

What the instrument decides: which currency the bill is paid in

Everything so far has been about renewables. But the procurement decision settles something else that is discussed less — how much of the electricity bill leaves the country. The countries that have taken this question separately have made one thing explicit: “energy security” is not one thing but three distinct axes, and each needs its own measure, its own date and its own instrument. Slogans deliver none of them.

AxisThe question it answersWho plans on this measureWhere Bangladesh stands
Fuelfuel How much of the primary fuel has to be imported? Japan — the 7th Strategic Energy Plan (February 2025) sets self-sufficiency to rise from 15.2% to 30–40% by 2040: one number, one date. Vietnam — the revised PDP8 (April 2025) puts domestic gas first and LNG only to cover the shortfall. No target at all. The IEPMP walks the other way — it rests 2050 on LNG, ammonia and CCS.
Currencycurrency How much of the sector’s cost is settled in foreign currency? Nobody in advance. Sri Lanka after the 2022 collapse, Pakistan after 2024 — both learned it afterwards. This is the axis nobody measures ahead of time, and the one that breaks first. 78.9% — of fuel cost, FY26. In eight years it has never fallen below 74.5%. Capacity charges are in dollars on top of that.
Plant & capitalsupply chain Who built the equipment, and whose balance sheet paid for it? India — auctions set the price while ALMM and PLI set whose panel it is; two instruments, one goal. Pakistan — net metering, 16.4 GW on consumers’ own money. Panels are imported outright. Investment arrived precisely where the capacity charge was guaranteed.
% · SHARE OF FUEL COST The red-brown bands are settled in foreign currency, the green in taka 0 25 50 75 100 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 84.6 74.5 83.9 86.8 88.0 84.0 79.9 78.9 FISCAL YEAR · FY26 = JUL 25–MAR 26, INCOMPLETE SOURCE OF FUEL COST Liquid fuel — all imported 61 → 25 Imported coal 0 → 31 Imported from India and Nepal 18 → 16 LNG (taken as 30% of gas) 5 → 7 Barapukuria domestic coal 3 → 1 Domestic gas 12 → 17 Solar, wind and hydro 0 → 4 Total settled in foreign currency
Which currency eight fiscal years of power-sector fuel cost was settled in. The black line at the top is the point — 84.6% to 78.9%, never once below 74.5%. Yet the composition beneath it changed completely: liquid fuel fell from 60.9% to 24.7%, and imported coal rose from zero to 31.5%. One import replaced another; the currency of the bill did not change. Barapukuria counts as domestic coal — in FY26 that is 2.5% of all coal-fired electricity, meaning the rest of the coal fleet is entirely imported. LNG is taken as 30% of gas (Petrobangla’s supply ratio); because LNG costs more than domestic gas, its true share of cost is larger than that, so the black line is conservative. Only the price of fuel is counted here, not capacity charges — adding those raises the share further. Source: BPDB daily reports.

Of the three axes, the one most within Bangladesh’s own control is the currency axis — and the reason is uncomfortable. Importing fuel is unremarkable in this region; all six countries in section 08 are import-dependent. What is unusual is that Bangladesh pays dollars for machines that do not run. Sri Lanka’s dollars ran out paying for fuel it actually burned. A large part of Bangladesh’s goes against capacity standing still — the megawatts counted in section 05. It is the only kind of import dependence that can be reduced without delivering one unit less electricity. The other two axes take years to move; this one takes a contract renegotiation.

The old instrument is closed, the new one is not settled

On 28 November 2024 the Special Provisions Act of 2010 was repealed. The instrument that produced this gap over fifteen years is now shut — the first of the brief’s thirteen demands is effectively met. But the contracts written under that Act were not voided; capacity charges run to the end of each PPA. The bill from the old instrument is still arriving.

And the new instrument? The Renewable Energy Policy 2025 targets 20% by 2030. Reaching it from January 2026 means installing about 760 MW a year — against an average of 59 MW a year over the past fourteen. Roughly thirteen times the pace. Yet the policy still carries no published price, no auction calendar and no deadline. The 2008 policy also had a target, 10%, and it also stayed a target. This is exactly where the Philippines trap sits.

Where this comparison meets the brief’s own chapters:

Where Bangladesh stands · August 2026

In 2017 Vietnam stood in exactly this place — solar capacity effectively zero, a target on paper, and the decision still to be taken. The difference was made in the eighteen months that followed.

Part 06

Decisions and sources

What the brief asks for, and where every figure on this page was published.

Consumers Association of Bangladesh 9 May 2026, para 7

12

The five decisions sought

The brief closes on five asks. They are policy positions, not findings, and nothing in the daily reports can confirm or refute them — they are set out here because the numbers above are the evidence they are argued from.

    Provenance who published each figure

    13

    Sources

    Every measured number on this page comes from a report published by a Bangladesh government body. Nothing is modelled, estimated or supplied by a third party. The daily reports were read through the open archive at energy.datahubbd.org, which mirrors what PGCB and BPDB publish, and each figure is reproducible from it.

    Accessed via energy.datahubbd.org — an open mirror of the daily generation reports. It republishes the government files; it does not originate any figure.
    PublisherWhat it provides, and which sections rest on it
    PGCBGovernment
    Power Grid Company of Bangladesh State-owned transmission utility under the Power Division, Ministry of Power, Energy and Mineral Resources. Its daily generation report — sheets P2, Forecast, Generation and GenLog, published to the company’s ERP portal — names every station, its available capacity, what it delivered at the peak hour and why it delivered nothing. 2,413 daily reports, 2020-01-01 to 2026-09-05, 389,125 station-days. Sections 01–06 are computed entirely from these.
    BPDBGovernment
    Bangladesh Power Development Board State-owned generation and distribution utility under the same ministry. Its daily report carries fuel-wise generation and fuel cost, peak-hour load-shedding, and the national totals the station sheets reconcile against. 11 January 2018 to 16 August 2026; 28,841 fuel-wise rows, 646,670 station-day rows. Section 07 is computed from these, and the totals agree with BPDB’s own daily figures to within 99.8–100% in every fiscal year.
    ETBReference
    energytransitionbd.org plant register Used only to attach plant attributes — commissioning date, sponsor, district — to a station once the daily reports have already named and counted it. 189 of 203 stations matched; no figure on this page depends on it.
    OWIDNot government
    Our World in Data / IRENA Installed solar and wind capacity for the six comparison countries, 2010–2024. The only place the page leaves Bangladesh government data. Sections 08–09 only.
    CABNot government
    Consumers Association of Bangladesh The policy papers of 9 May and 26 August 2026: the thirteen demands, the five decisions, the capacity-charge and subsidy totals, and the procurement chronology. These are the argument the measurements above are set against, not evidence for it — section 05 checks five of its factual claims against the daily reports, and one does not hold.

    Where the daily reports and an outside source disagree, this page reports the daily reports and says so. The method — coverage, the two sheet templates, the reconciliation against the hourly log, and what is still open — is kept as a separate note.